Thomas Becker

Thomas Becker, LL.M.Eur.
Tel. +49 221 25 09 358
Mobile +49 173 20 97 898
thomas.becker@gof-partner.com

Admitted to the German bar as Rechtsanwalt in 2002.

Thomas Becker works as of counsel with Gütt Olk Feldhaus and is an experienced project lawyer with a focus on the technology sector. He worked more 10 years at a leading international law firm in the fields IT, intellectual property and outsourcing. He has advised clients on numerous commercial projects and corporate transactions in the technology sector.

Thomas Becker is an experienced legal advisor for commercial projects in the area of technology, sourcing and procurement of ITC infrastructure, services, content and information. He has strong experience in drafting and negotiating complex commercial agreements. His specialized expertise extends to IP rights, licensing and data protection. Thomas has provided advice for many international projects and transactions, and has worked in London, Amsterdam and Hong Kong.

While working as a legal advisor, particularly during his time with a major international law firm, Thomas has come across all major parts of the IT and communication sector.

He has actively experienced important market developments during the last decade, such as the privatization and consolidation of telecoms and broad band cable operators, the growth of new Internet based business models, the development of the ITC sector from classical IT projects to multijurisdictional outsourcings and BPOs, to the newest developments in virtualization, cloud services, Big Data and the Internet of things. He has worked on the provider and customer side, and is familiar with the interests of both sides of the table.

Thomas is also an experienced transaction lawyer. Over the years, he has provided advice for numerous M&A transactions regarding technology issues, the supply of goods and services, licensing agreements, and data protection.

Thomas Becker has worked as a lawyer with a leading international law firm from 2002 to 2012, and as counsel since 2008. He studied law at the universities of Mainz and Cologne, and holds a Master of European Law (LL.M. Eur.) degree from the Europa Institute of Saarland University, with a master’s thesis on European competition law.

He speaks German, English and French.

Thomas Becker is co-author of a practitioner’s commentary on the European and German Data Protection Laws.

Thomas Becker

Thomas Becker, LL.M.Eur.
Tel. +49 221 25 09 358
Mobil +49 173 20 97 898
thomas.becker@gof-partner.com

Zugelassen als Rechtsanwalt seit 2002

Thomas Becker ist als Of Counsel für Gütt Olk Feldhaus tätig und ein erfahrener Projektanwalt mit Fokus auf den Technologiesektor. Er war langjährig in einer der führenden internationalen Großkanzleien mit Schwerpunkt in den Bereichen IT, Geistiges Eigentum und Outsourcing tätig. Er hat eine Vielzahl von Vertragsprojekten und Unternehmenstransaktionen im Technologiebereich beraten.

Thomas Becker ist ein erfahrener rechtlicher Berater für Vertragsgestaltung im Technologieumfeld, Beschaffungsvorgänge in Bezug auf ITK-Infrastrukturen, Dienstleistungen, Inhalte und Informationen. Seine Expertise liegt vor allem im Bereich der Gestaltung und Verhandlung von Verträgen. Er hat umfangreiche Erfahrung im Bereich des Geistigen Eigentums, Lizenzrechts und des Datenschutzes. Er hat vielfältig bei internationalen Projekten und Transaktionen beraten und war insbesondere länger in London, Amsterdam und Hong Kong tätig.

Thomas Becker hat im Rahmen seiner Beratertätigkeit alle wesentlichen Bereiche der Informations- und Kommunikationsbranche kennengelernt. Er hat dabei wichtige technologische Entwicklungen als Berater begleitet. Beispiele hierfür sind die Privatisierung und Konsolidierung von Telekommunikations- und Kabelnetzbetreibern, die Etablierung neuer Geschäftsmodelle durch Internet-Unternehmen, die Entwicklung in der ITK-Branche von klassischen IT-Projekten über länderübergreifende Outsourcings und BPOs bis zu den neuesten Entwicklungen in Bezug auf Virtualisierung, Cloud-Dienstleistungen, Big Data und das Internet der Dinge. Er hat sowohl Anbieter als auch Kunden beraten und kennt daher die Interessenlage auf beiden Seiten des Tisches.

Er ist außerdem ein erfahrener Transaktionsanwalt. Er hat bei einer Vielzahl von M&A-Transaktionen und Restrukturierungen zu Technologie-Themen, Lieferbeziehungen, Lizenzvereinbarungen und Datenschutz beraten.

Thomas Becker war von 2002 bis 2012 als Rechtsanwalt bei einer führenden internationalen Sozietät tätig, seit 2008 als Counsel. Er hat an den Universitäten Mainz und Köln Rechtswissenschaft studiert. Am Europa-Institut der Universität des Saarlandes hat er den Master of European Law (LL.M. Eur.) mit einer Arbeit zum Europäischen Wettbewerbsrecht erlangt.

Thomas Becker spricht Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch.

Thomas Becker ist Mitautor eines Praktiker-Kommentars zum europäischen und deutschen Datenschutzrecht.